Constant reboot after microsoft updates...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Acoustic-Fury

Hello again!

I have looked around and searched around the boards to see if anyone else has come across this puzzling issue (for me anyway) that I am having. I did see some threads with continous rebooting but I haven't come across anything here or on the intarweb about computers going into a conitnous reboot after microsoft updates:

This is my first build. After installing all of the components into the tower, I was given a copy of windows XP pro SP2 from work and I installed it. The computer booted up no problem and no issues noted. I installed the driver to the video card, the motherboard and Norton Anti-Virus. I restarted and rebooted after every installation, no problems noted.

Now it was time for the microsoft updates:
I puchased the validation key from microsoft, entered the validation key when prompted and downloaded the validation software. I then proceeded to go and download microsoft updates. 59 updates were downloaded to my computer. I then restarted as directed.

My computer is now in a critical state of restart and reboot. The computer would begin booting fine...get to the windows load screen, it would hang, the lights on the keyboard would flash, a blue screen would flash with writing on it (no I can't read what is written because the flash is too
fast) and then my computer would restart. Over and Over and Over. I cannot access SAFE mode, it continues to go into a constant state of reboot. I really don't want to reformat and reinstall the OS again. Mainly because the validation software was downloaded ...and there is no possibility of getting to a restore point because I can't access safe mode. Hitting the windows key and pause break key to bring up the system properties to turn off the constant reboot does not work either.