Cooling for my q6600

Status
Not open for further replies.
not sure if this is the write place, but..

Hey, I'm kind of new to the whole building my own pc thing as in i've never done it before. I am interested in making a gaming pc that will put me over the top for CoD4. I have all my specs picked out on new egg as follows..

Processor - quad core Q6600-2.4 ghz

^Power Supply-combo with Rosewill RX950-D-B ATX12V v2.2 & EPS12V v2.91 950W Power Supply

Case-Thermaltake armor series case

Memory-Corsair 4 gb memory sdram ddr2

motherboard-ASUS SLI LGA 775 nvidia 680i atx intel motherboard

hard drive-Western Digital Caviar SE WD5000AAJS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

dvd burner-SAMSUNG 20X DVD±R DVD Burner Black SATA Model SH-S203B - OEM

EVGA 8800 gt 512 mb overclocked

All I need to know is what cooling I will need if I want to overclock my processor from 2.4 ghz to 3.0 ghz.

Suggestions on different pc parts for the PERFECT gaming pc, or suggestions on what I should get for cooling will be greatly appreciated

Regards

firstly) you planning on going SLI? if not, i'd recommend the Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3P or the ABIT IP35-PRO (gigabyte more because it's more common for troubleshooting and whatnot.. and i love mine :)) both excellent overclockers

PSU i'd recommend a corsair HX-520 or HX-620, 620 watts is plenty, even if you're going the sli route, and comes with a 5 year warranty and excellent build quality.

if you really want to OC that 8800GT, a Zalman VF900 cooler will make it perform even more amazingly than it already does (i'm getting one soon)

and for you RAM, make sure it's 2*2gb sticks not 4*1gb, having less sticks creates less strain on the motherboard allowing for better overclocking.. also, 2*2gb is cheaper than 4*1gb :p

with that out of the way

you shouldn't need any aftermarket cooling to happily reach 3.0ghz with a Q6600, you can do that on stock.

with my Big Typhoon VX i'm on 3.5 right now, can probably go to 3.6 but whatever...