cost of building computer

wondering how much it would probably cost me to build a real nice pc like a p4 3.4 ghz 1gb ram real good video card with wondows xp. i have the disk drives and tower and i have never built a pc before

If you have the tower and drives you should be able to build that pc for $500 or less. That does not inlude the cost of Windows. Check out pricewatch.com and newegg.com. Good luck.

for graphics card your looking at radeon 9800 pro 128 mb at 140-150 cheap brand for a 256 mb card your looking at $220 and around the same for a geforce 6600 graphics card for a ge force 6800 your looking at $250-400 for ram your looking at 140 ish depending for the motherboard anywhere from 75-150 for the processor 150-200 for the hard drive 80-300 so your looking at 600-700 low end good computer that would run anygame out there right now. however that doesnt include hyperthreading if you want that which acts like dual processors. however if you were going to spend that mone i would go with an athlon 64 bit processor which would kick the crap out of your intel. it would double the intel speed for you however then you have to buy windows 64 edition which is expensive. but it would be a sweet machine, good luck and good buying look around and if you wait a while prices also drop so hey never know

I would recommend ditching the PSU in the case for a nice Enermax equivilent, PSU's that come with cases are usually crap and will blow up/screw up. It's happened to me before.

When I said you could build it for $500 I was thinking you would go with a $90 Adaptec or something (pretty decent card). If you want a SUPER good card for $250 I ammend my estimate to $650 cost.