CPU + Artic Silver = Mistake!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Butterball

CPU + Artic silver = BAD!!!

well i just got my new complete water cooling kit so i tested it out for a couple of days to see if it was water tight then i installed it last night. so far so good. however it came with a thing of Artic Silver II thermal compund. i have never used it before but what the hey. so i put a small bit on the pros. core and some went on the chip at the time i wasnt to worried until it wouldnt POSt the i realized it was shorting the bridges on my chip out so i sat with alcohal wipes and cleaned the best i could but there is still a cloudly look to it and it is shorting still any ideas on how to clear it off?
:dead: :dead: :dead:

First of all, compoud should only be applied on the CPU CORE, NOT on the rest (for reasons you just discoverd).

If you want to clean it, use a dry tissue and finish it with isopropanol.

It is the compound and I didn't mean to get it on there and I tried the alcohol there is still a very light coat that looks cloudy so I think I need to a new processor.:mad:

Use some electric cleaning spray, i.e. something that doesn't contains oil like WD-40 or 5-56 does.

Then just spray on the chip untill all AS is removed, yes literally drown the CPU...

read the link

read the link
ONLY Arctic Silver II should be between the processor core and the heatsink.
CPU Core:
Use isopropyl alcohol or acetone (nail polish remover) and a bit of careful rubbing.
(If you use acetone, do a final cleaning with isopropyl alcohol.)