TechSpot

Cpu cache? what the hell

By james_k1988
Mar 8, 2005
  1. i was comparing processors on a site i found and i saw 2 things on each which i dont know what they are. it said

    level 1 cache x
    level 2 cache x

    (wher x is the amount of kb :knock: )

    what is this? lol never seen it before. Plus i need to know whats better, choose from below

    1.
    level 1 cache :128kb
    level 2 cache :256kb

    2.
    level 1 cache :16kb
    level 2 cache : 1024kb

    i'm not sure whats better as one is even but one ahs a gigh level 2 lol and considering i dont know what this is, makes it hard to tell :p

    thanx
     
  2. dopefisher

    dopefisher TS Rookie Posts: 444

  3. tbrunt3

    tbrunt3 TS Rookie Posts: 313

    The higher the cache the better it is basically information stored on the chip is a pretty good not techie explanation....
     
  4. james_k1988

    james_k1988 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 163

    but whats better

    right i get it all now, but i still dont know what of the above i mentioned is better, any ideas?
     
  5. vnf4ultra

    vnf4ultra TechSpot Paladin Posts: 1,388

    Does the 2nd one actually have 16kb? That's really low. What cpus are you looking at?
     
  6. james_k1988

    james_k1988 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 163

    wot i thought

    umm its a pentium 4 chip :S lol and i dont know why it has 2 levels. possibly one is external and one internal? heres what it says about it neways

    Processor Manufacturer: Intel
    Model: Pentium 4 2.4 GHz
    Processor Speed: 2.4 GHz
    Bus Speed: 533 MHz
    Socket Type: Socket 478
    Level 1 Cache: 16 KB
    Level 2 Cache: 1024 KB
     
  7. james_k1988

    james_k1988 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 163

    yet another

    heres another intel chip, 3.2mhz but still got a low level 1 cache, lower that the first :S:S this this chip seems very powerful

    Processor Manufacturer: Intel
    Model: Pentium 4 3.2 GHz
    Processor Speed: 3.2 GHz
    Box Includes CPU, Fan & Heatsink
    Bus Speed: 800 MHz
    Socket Type: Socket 478
    Level 1 Cache: 8 KB
    Level 2 Cache: 512 KB

    this has got me very confoosed :confused: :unch:
     
  8. vnf4ultra

    vnf4ultra TechSpot Paladin Posts: 1,388

    I think l2 cache is more important.
    I don't understand the l1 cache, look at this.link
    It says l1, 12+16. Why not write 28? Or are there 2 kinds of l1 that they are distinguishing.
     
  9. james_k1988

    james_k1988 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 163

    hmmm

    i aint got a scooby m8, i dont really understand. And it only seems to be certain processors that have 2 levels. its got me stumped lol. and i still dont kno wot ones better out of the top 2 i mentioned, as one is balanced outish and the other has a realy high level 2 :knock:
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...