TechSpot

CPU Temp Over 60 °C

By fazi1985
Oct 15, 2003
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. My CPU's temperature goes always over 60°C? It gets a voltage of 13,5 V. I know it's a bit high but cannot do anything with it. Plz help me if it's abnormal?

    CPU: Athlon Xp 1700+
    2 Coolers
  2. Phantasm66

    Phantasm66 TS Rookie Posts: 6,504   +6

    Its not about to fry on the spot (mehopes) but its still in mildly unhealthy land.

    When you say 2 coolers, is the 2nd one a case fan, and is it the right way round?

    How good is the heatsink that you have on the CPU? Does it have a copper base?

    If its a slower fan, its possible you will be able to get a replacement heat sink and faster fan, and just screw off the old fan and put on the new one....

    I would be trying to get the idle temp down into 40s.
  3. fazi1985

    fazi1985 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 28

    Thanks for your help! But is the 13.5 V ideal for a CPU? I think it's also a problem. The voltage can not be set anywhere, and the normal is 12 V. Any idea?
  4. PanicX

    PanicX TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 829

    That can't be correct

    13.5v is way to high for your CPU, AMD's white paper shows that the voltage should not excede 5.25v
    AMD Athlon XP Processor model 8 Data Sheet (requires Adobe Acrobat Reader)


    You may want to check out AMD's Thermal, Mechanical and Chassis Cooling Design Guide (requires Adobe Acrobat Reader)

    If your PC is running and is stable at 60c under a load, you're well within the limitations of your processor which can handle temperatures up to 90c. You may want to check to see if 13.5 is your multiplier, not the voltage.
  5. StormBringer

    StormBringer TS Rookie Posts: 2,871

    all voltages in the machine can vary by +/-10%
    I'm pretty sure though, that you are either misidentifying the voltage you are looking at, or the software you are using is configured wrong, or it just doesn't work with your particular board.

    As far as 13.5v, that is fine for a value that is supposed to be 12v, and I would not be at all surprised if you were to later find it at 11.5v or somewhere around that.

    Personally, 60c under load would be a little high for my personal prefs, but it isn't going to cause any damage. I personally try to stay between 45-55c, usually around 48c is where both my AMD machines stay.
  6. fazi1985

    fazi1985 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 28

    The software I use is Asus PC Probe. But if you say this 60+ °C doesnt cause any damage I dont take care of it. Thanks guys for the help! And one more thing: this CPU is Palonimo. Does it worth buying a new Tbred? Is it better?
  7. Didou

    Didou Bowtie extraordinair! Posts: 5,899

    60°C is fine. It would be better if it were lower but those CPUs are rated to stand heat all the way to 90°C.

    I'd start getting worried if the temps go above 70°C.

    PS. You can always get a better cooler or a faster running FAN but changing CPUs is not worth it IMO.
  8. Crazy

    Crazy TS Rookie Posts: 191

    If you want to lower the temperature use cpuidle.
    http://www.cpuidle.de/

    It lowered my amd 2000+ from 50°C to 31°C when idle.
    Realy good program for a amd processor.

    I resently installed it on my mothers pc witch was running betweeen 55°C and 62°C and now its running on 40°C

    Greets Crazy
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.