CPU too hot??

Status
Not open for further replies.

benjy20

Hi guys, have been having problems for ages with my pc, it takes ages to boot up, its not so bad getting to the desktop but then takes about 5 mins to finally open everything, and i only have zonealarm and avast! in the system tray. Have done everything possible to clean up and get my pc running as smooth as possible but still no solution. Spyware, malware, system mechanic, defrag etc.

I have had a problem when switching pc on from cold that the fan makes a strange, loud grinding/whirring noise, i have to switch it off and boot again, usually doing this 3 times and it then is quiet. I noticed that my cpu temp when idle is 65 degrees C, this seems pretty high for idling but im no expert so am wondering if the slowness of my pc is down too the cpu running too hot. My processor is an Athlon 2000XP.

Any help would be great thx guys.

Slow boot typically network.

benjy20 said:
its not so bad getting to the desktop but then takes about 5 mins to finally open everything, and i only have zonealarm and avast!
This is not a heat problem, it's a Network problem.

I suspect you have networked your PC, but even if you haven't, Zone Alarm is checking to see if you do, and it is that scouring of your network to find phantom PC's that is slowing your startup time. (I'm not familiar with "Avast!").

Also, if you have DSL or if your Net connection is through another PC, make sure your PC doesn't "autoconnect" when Windows starts. That will slow you down greatly too, and puts you at risk providing any nasty Spyware/Malware with free access to the Net whenever it wants.

If this is not a Networking issue, you've still got something loading at startup that is trying to do something at the start (like a virus or Spyware looking for a connection to the Net to upload info).