CPU upgrade question

By gumbydancin
May 11, 2003
  1. Sorry for my question if it is lame :( , but I'm a noob when it comes to hardware stuff (i'm a software guy myself).

I want to upgrade my CPU from the 1000Mhz Intel Celeron with 810 chipset that is to something newer (like better than Celeron). I have a Intel Corporation Whitney System CR Board on this pc and I don't understand how you know what CPUs are upgrade compatible with your motherboard. Can anyone tell me what CPUs I'm limited to in upgrading or where I can find this information. I looked it up a bit on the intel site but couldn't find quite what I was looking for, figured I'd be better off just asking somewhere. Thanks for any help guys/gals. :)
  2. hdmk

hdmk TS Rookie Posts: 104

- Its not a lame question :)

I don't know exactly, but I don't think that you'll be able to upgrade to get much more performance just be upgrading the CPU.

Although its the most expensive option, new CPU /mem/ mobo will probably be the only option that will give you a significant performance boost.

If you want a reasonably priced option, I would recommmed something vaguely along the lines of:

AMD XP 2500+/2400+
    Abit NF7 - nForce2 - USB2+A133+Dual DDR400+AGP8x
    512mb DDR

More experienced members may alter that slightly, but that's about right I think.

That should give you a serious performance boost for about £200 / $320
  3. Justin

Justin TS Rookie Posts: 942

If you are looking for a cheapshot upgrade that will give you a huge performance boost, I suggest going with a lower end mobo. I highly highly reccomend the ECS K75SA. It supports up to AXP 2600+, the PRO version supports 166mhz CPU FSB, and that will definately last you a good while. At $49-59, it's a steal, and is still available.
  4. Th3M1ghtyD8

Th3M1ghtyD8 TechSpot Paladin Posts: 664