crazy rogue system alert popup

Status
Not open for further replies.

darkmatter14

hey, im a computer novice, but im pretty sure ive got a nasty infection. its a popup in the lower righthand corner that say i have spyware and to download this software, but im sure its some sort of fraud; the problem is that i've tried several programs, and although they have found certain problems, they never wipe the source. i've seen other posts on this topic, and on other sites, also ive used HijackThis like the forums said to, but i have no idea what to delete or keep and i've heard warning to be careful because programs like that can ruin a PC. im using XP service pack 2, and i'll attach my HJT log so if somebody could please just help me out

Hello and welcome to Techspot.

Your system has a lop infection as well as other nasties.

Very Important: Before deciding whether you should clean or reformat your system, go and read this thread HERE and decide what it is you want to do.

If after reading the above, you wish to clean your system, do the following.

Please Download NoLop to your desktop from one of the links below...
http://www.spywareedge.net/nolop/NoLop.exe
http://www.thespykiller.co.uk/forum/...pmod;dl=item16

First close any other programs you have running as this will require a reboot
Double click NoLop.exe to run it
Now click the button labelled "Search and Destroy"
<<your computer will now be scanned for infected files>>
When scanning is finished you will be prompted to reboot only if infected, Click OK
Now click the "REBOOT" Button.
A Message should popup from NoLop.
If not, double click the program again and it will finish.

--If you receive an error, "mscomctl.ocx or one of its dependencies are not correctly registered," please download mscomctl.ocx to your system32 folder then rerun the program.-- http://www.boletrice.com/downloads/mscomctl.ocx