Debate on constant PC power.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kalminfyn

Hello everyone. My father and I are currently at arms with this debate. He was complaining to me about how much electricity my computer pulls, saying that it is costing way too much to leave it on as much as I do. I say that's fine and I am thinking about paying him for the cost, if need be, assuming what I think is true. Now, may you all know that I am relatively new to knowing useful things about computers. What I do know, I have heard from people, or my brother has taught me. So please add what you know about this so that I may learn more for future benefit and reference.

Now, the debate is over whether it is better for your PC to leave it on constantly and reboot or shut down every once in a while so it can boot up and be refreshed; or if it is better to shut down every time it is not in use so that it boots up and is refreshed more often and to save money on electricity.

Please reply if you know anything about this so that I may show my father the results so as to apoligize if I am wrong, as is usual, or if I am for once correct.

Thank you for your replies,
Kalminfyn

In my opinion it is better to leave the computer running, and just restart it only when needed.
I think that this way you do not do so much damage to your HD and ither components.
I had a problem once, and a servis guy told me that my HD, because it was reebooted to many times, and it just died.

I believe its personal preference....

I have rebooted (nearly) every night for the past 4 years and not had a single problem with a failing hard drive on my desktop PCs.

As for the amount of money....Its relatively nonexistent for 1 PC.