TechSpot

Deleting "My Backup" Folder after Reboot

By erinp06
Sep 26, 2007
  1. My computer had to reboot, so I created a "My Backup" folder so as not to lose anything. After the third time of doing this, these folders are taking up a lot of space.

    I saw another thread showing how to delete it using Vista, but I have Windows XP. I tried following those steps, starting with something like going to the Security tab in the folder's "Properties." I didn't have this tab, but was told unclicking an option in the View Tab of "Properties" that said "use simple file sharing (recommended)" would give me the security tab, but I don't see that option to unclick, so I'm back at square one.

    If anyone has any ideas as to how to get rid of this folder, I'd really appreciate it!!
     
  2. Tmagic650

    Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 21,066   +169

    Boot your system into SAFE MODE, and see if you can change the security settings and delete these files from there
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.