Dell Dimension 2400 upgrade

Status
Not open for further replies.
I just bought this game battlefield 2 and I really want to play it and some other games. I have already upgraded to 2 512 sticks of RAM. I was thinking about getting a new mobo so that I could get a good video card because I read that PCI video cards are not that good. I know that my comp has a Pentium 4. Any suggestions would be appreciated. In depth would also help cuz I am kinda new to this stuff and tryin to learn. Thanks.

Hi, welcome to TechSpot! :)

replacing the mobo and adding a PCI-express video card (or even an AGP card) may also require you to upgrade your PSU as well.

while it is true that PCI video cards are crap compared to PCI-E and AGP, you can get one that will allow you play most games on low settings. This will by no means make it a gaming rig, but it will allow you to play games for a while at least. When DirectX10 games start to come out, no PCI card will be able to play them

The dell 2400 has a Micro Atx(MATX) motherboard. It can be replaced with any other micro atx motherboard. I replaced my dell 2300's motherboard with a gigabyte 8IG1000MK, but there are many options available that will reuse your ram, cpu and other devices, but allow the installation of agp cards.
All of these should work.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...&description=&srchInDesc=&minPrice=&maxPrice=
These would be my "top picks," in no particular order.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813123254
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813131460
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813128222

Note, that the front panel connections, like the power button, leds, etc, likely won't line up with the new motherboard, and WILL require modification to the connector to get it working properly. Also, I couldn't get my front usb or audio to connect either, but it's no big loss to me. The board fits in fine though, the mounts all lined up properly.