TechSpot

Dell External drive inop

By 07vette
Nov 3, 2008
  1. Thanks in advance for any help.

Newbie here -

Dell Latitude X1

After about 2 years of very little use of the model #PD01S EXTERNAL DRIVE its not functioning properly - You can hear the disc spin as normal and the drive light comes on as normal and then shuts off soon after..The icon does not show up either anymore.

I see there are a few threads on simiar problems, but was wondering if I could get help as well...I was not cool with deleting drivers just in case that created more problems...

In one thread, a guy got help by removing a driver from the IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers...under main heading, I have Intel(r) 82801FB/FBM Ultra storage contollers - 266F
    AND
    Primary IDE controllers

So, I didnt want to just start deleting without knowing what I was doing..
    Any thoughts, is it normally the drive?
    Dan

2. kimsland

kimsland Ex-TechSpotter Posts: 18,353

3. 07vette

07vette TS Rookie Topic Starter

any of this information helpful?
    Here are the scan Results
    Latitude X1
    General
    Family Name Latitude
    Family Model X1
    Windows Version Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
    BIOS
    Version A05
    Vendor Dell Inc.
    Date 2005-12-25
    Processor
    Model Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1.10GHz
    Speed 1.1 Ghz
    Cache Size 2048 Kb
    Hard Drive
    Drive Size Free Space Utilized
    C: 27.9 Gb 4.08 Gb 85 %

Sound Card
    Model SigmaTel C-Major Audio
    Card Slots
    Slot ID Designation Usage
    System Slot 0 PCMCIA 0 Available
    System Slot 1 MiniPCI Available

USB Controlers
    Name Version
    Intel(R) 82801FB/FBM USB Universal Host Controller - 2658 USB
    Intel(R) 82801FB/FBM USB Universal Host Controller - 2659 USB
    Intel(R) 82801FB/FBM USB Universal Host Controller - 265A USB
    Intel(R) 82801FB/FBM USB Universal Host Controller - 265B USB
    Intel(R) 82801FB/FBM USB2 Enhanced Host Controller - 265C USB2

Video Adapters
    Model Memory