Dell's HDD bay option

Status
Not open for further replies.

BILL_S

Anyone have luck booting an operating system from a HDD via the front bay on a C600/610 or similar? I had read something about this option while looking for info on this model. I also am a bit in the dark on the additional slot near the memory on the bottom, what can be installed here... It looks similar to the memory interface but also has two unhooked connectors toward the palmrest side. I assume this is miniPCI slot? I am new to laptops this year, in fact, having picked up a few used ones cheap, this is one off eBay in the last week.... I am yet to have it fully operational.
Thanks TIA,
BILL

UPDATE: Paragon33 tells me I must have some incomplete info, It is possible via another port but not the CD/Floppy front bay. I can't recall where I got that information. Anyway, sorry for any confusion passed along

BILL_S said:
Anyone have luck booting an operating system from a HDD via the front bay on a C600/610 or similar? I had read something about this option while looking for info on this model. I also am a bit in the dark on the additional slot near the memory on the bottom, what can be installed here... It looks similar to the memory interface but also has two unhooked connectors toward the palmrest side. I assume this is miniPCI slot? I am new to laptops this year, in fact, having picked up a few used ones cheap, this is one off eBay in the last week.... I am yet to have it fully operational.
Thanks TIA,
BILL

UPDATE: Paragon33 tells me I must have some incomplete info, It is possible via another port but not the CD/Floppy front bay. I can't recall where I got that information. Anyway, sorry for any confusion passed along

Hi Bill

I own a C600, the slot next to the memory is for a MiniPCI card, although if you want to use a Wifi Nic you will need to buy a pigtail connector to link it to the inbuilt aerial, these cables are like rocking horse sh*t to find.