Do Asus Mobos SUCK???

Status
Not open for further replies.

dgower2

Ok, there can be two explanations; either

1. Asus boards are the most commonly used mobos and that's why there are so many posts in here regarding problems with them

OR

2. They are actually very problematic boards

I know they usually reign supreme (or used to) in all the bechmark tests AND they are the MOST expensive boards on the market.

Please give your experiential feedback on these notorious motherboards.

I'm an MSI builder BTW. No floppy drive necessary for BIOS flashing!!!

I have had one problem with an asus board, but rma went really well and i have installed quite a few asus mobos without problems. In comparison to the luck i have with some maufacturers, asus is pretty good.

I own about 30 ASUS motherboards. In the past 8 years, in my workstations at home, about 75% of them were using ASUS motherboards. They tend to be very high-quality, high-performing boards. I would not say they are the "most common" though. If you take every x86 desktop in the world, the majority of the motherboards will likely be Intel- or Intel- based Motherboards. Problems will happen with all manufacturers. Most problems I've seen with ASUS boards are people not configuring them properly.

Also, I don't need a floppy to update my BIOS on my K8N or my A7N8X-E Deluxe or my A7N8X-X. Not sure why you mentioned that.

I also have an MSI K7D Master Dual Athlon, and although MSI has given me lots of problems in the past, it is a rock-solid awesome motherboard.

I currently own a K8V Deluxe and it's been rock-solid from day one. So, IMHO the answer to your question would be 'no'.

Thanks for the Feedback so Far