Does anyone actually understand hibernation?

Status
Not open for further replies.

puck_andy

Not talking about your bed. Recently I took out my 650 from my intel 810 and put in a 950 mhz chip. So far everything is fine, so I upgraded to windows xp and that's when the problem started. I lost a number of programs, but on top of that I can't successfully put the computer in suspended mode anymore.:mad: Anyone know how to fix this? I suppose that it will sleep, but it won't wake up. Normally moving the mouse or pushing a key will wake it, but now only resetting will bring it out. I was forced to turn off the option all together. I'm a college student with a electricity bill to pay, so if anyone can tell me that there is no power usage difference or how to fix the problem, I'd be grateful.......Dang that took too long to write. Thanks:confused: :dead:

If your OS is invoking a power suspend in conjunction with the BIOS, and there are problems, then I suggest the following:

-Updating ALL drivers, especially graphics card and network card, to latest versions.
-Going to http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com and getting all updates for your OS, including latest service packs, and
-Finally, if all else does not prevail, flash the BIOS to the latest version.

Hibernation is where the current data stored in memory is dumped to the hard disk and later retreived when Windows starts up again.

That's how I understand it.

yeah the OS writes the current contents of RAM to disk. so you have a hibernation file the same size as your RAM.

The most common problem with PM is with APM and ACPI.

Go to BIOS, there should be an option that turns APM/ACPI on/off.

Also, you may try toggling the "PnP OS installed" option.

IMO the hibernation thing is rather dodgy, there is not that much gain compared to normal suspend and you may even have the option to use suspend to RAM which is even cooler than hibernation.