TechSpot

Download of the Week: LastPass 3.0

By Erik
Nov 6, 2013
Post New Reply
  1. Frankly, it’s impossible to remember all the usernames and passwords I have on the web so having a password manager is a must for the eidetic memory impaired like me. Although most browsers can remember your passwords, there are quite...

Read more

2. Trillionsin

Trillionsin TS Evangelist Posts: 1,095   +43

How many of you would back the security and usability in this? Any one else in here use this program?
    Interested myself...

3. mattfrompa

mattfrompa TS Maniac Posts: 482   +8

Steve Gibson (of GRC) uses it and I trust his evaluations. In part because of how open and in depth he is with his reviews, particularly regarding security.

https://www.grc.com/sn/sn-256.htm

4. 9Nails

9Nails TechSpot Paladin Posts: 977   +87

I've been using this for 2 months now. And It's a killer app. I have it generate unique passwords for the accounts which I create now. The default passwords that it generates look something like "WlQPk0zwI04T" - hard to remember and not easy to guess. When you generate passwords like these for each of the websites that you need it's terrific security. I use my one master password, and it stores the rest and supplies the passwords automatically or I can retrieve them easily through the interface.

Using this application can be convenient and automatic - for those of you who are certain that nobody else will be using your computer. Or it can be a very secure and require your master password when you want to login to a web page. It can auto-logout on idle or when the browser closes. There's a multitude of security settings to fit your needs.

I also like that it stores the website URLs when you create accounts. So, lets say that I created a new account but didn't recall the URL to the site. (It happens!) I can go into Last Pass, look in a folder where I stored the account and retrieve the URL, my username, and my password.