TechSpot

Drive won't read blank discs

By papercut_2008
Jun 18, 2007
  1. Recently, my DVD burner stopped reading all blank discs- DVD+R, DVD-R, DVD+RW, CD-R, you name it, it won't read it. The discs work in other machines, so they are not at fault. Any thoughts?
     
  2. halo71

    halo71 TS Rookie Posts: 1,289

    Bad drive?
     
  3. papercut_2008

    papercut_2008 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 77

    drive is less than a month old, and works in other computers. still reads DVDs and CDs, just not blank ones.
     
  4. SNGX1275

    SNGX1275 TS Forces Special Posts: 12,657   +323

    The drive reads blanks in other computers? Remove it from the device manager and any associated InCD like programs that allow packet writing.
     
  5. papercut_2008

    papercut_2008 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 77

    hmmm ill give that a try. also, earlier today i borrowed an old external cd burner from a friend, and it works fine. wouldn't a program like InCD affect it too?
     
  6. papercut_2008

    papercut_2008 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 77

    ok another quick update. i read in another thread to check under the tab labeled "recording", and make sure it is checked. That tab doesn't even appear for my internal drive, but does for the external. any thoughts?
     
  7. SNGX1275

    SNGX1275 TS Forces Special Posts: 12,657   +323

    I don't have a recording tab for an internal burner either, don't think that is anything to worry about. Does the drive read blank disks in another computer?
     
  8. papercut_2008

    papercut_2008 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 77

    yeah, it works in other machines. could nero be the culprit? i have the OEM suite, an old one (i think version 5). i've removed all other programs that could be messing with it except that one, as i have had it for years with no problems.
     
  9. k.jacko

    k.jacko TS Rookie Posts: 743

    if you're using nero, when you put a blank disc in check what drive nero thinks its using. It may say 'imagerecorder' or something similar, so it thinks its ready to burn an image to hard drive. If this the only optical drive you have in that pc then basically it may think that if you need do copy a cd/dvd you first have to burn it to an image before burning it to blank disc.
    On the initial nero screen see what drive its using, if it does say 'imagerecorder' change it to the drive letter assigned one ie.
    E: Liteon DVD-RW [DVD].

    hope it helps.
     
  10. SNGX1275

    SNGX1275 TS Forces Special Posts: 12,657   +323

    Nero 5 broke with XP SP1 or SP2 I think.
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.