driver_irql_not_less_or_equal plz help

By Seldszar
Aug 22, 2005
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aenima666

    aenima666 Newcomer, in training

    There were in the previous message!!!


    Yeah, in my previous message in the board...that's where the minidump was.

    Anyway let it be, it's all sorted now. Refer to my other post and you will have the answer.

    Ciao,
  2. whiternoise

    whiternoise Newcomer, in training Posts: 99

    It just seems odd that i've used the pc for more than a year and only now it starts acting up. Thanks anyway though.

    Ps: Any other ideas?
  3. cpc2004

    cpc2004 Newcomer, in training Posts: 2,044

    Hi aenima666,

    According to your reply. You downclock the ram and it fixed the bucheck D1 and 8E. You can change back the clock frequency back to 2.4GHz if you think it is not related to the ram.

    Your debug report shows it crashes at the timer routine. Timer routine is a stable routine. It crashes only if hardware error such CPU, RAM or M/B.

    Mini090705-01.dmp D1 (00790073, 00000002, 00000000, 00790073) nt!KiTimerListExpire+122 -> nt!IopTimerDispatch+42
    Mini092505-01.dmp 8E (c0000005, 8058f2c7, f770e9d0, 00000000) nt!HvpIsFreeNeighbor+4a

    Your windows has multiple culprit and later you get another bugcheck 7A. I request you to provide more information and you resolve this problem by yourself.

    7A (C03E1C2C, C0000056, F870B000, 185F5860) MountMgr.sys
  4. cpc2004

    cpc2004 Newcomer, in training Posts: 2,044

    Hi

    You must understand this is a free forum. You do not pay me to resolve your problem. I use my free time to help people. Don't expect me to provide the response to you immediately as we are living at different time zone.

    Everyday there have 4 to 5 new cases and I have more than 40 open cases. Your problem has multiple culpirts. Your last post only have hijackthis log and not the minidump. I have request to attach the minidump and miss my post. I have no committment to answer all of your post.

    Your behaviour discourage me to help people here. Problem determination is not an easy process. Of course my suggestion is not always correct but I can resolve more than 50% of the blue screen here.

    You are good guy as you share your experience with us. As a lot of replies have no reply. I always provide best answer to the blue screen here. Most of problems of this forum are related to faulty ram.

    Refer to some of my resolved not relating faulty ram
    bad paging space.
    http://www.techspot.com/vb/showthread.php?p=191344#post191344

    Device driver problem
    http://www.techspot.com/vb/topic33343.html
    http://www.techspot.com/vb/showthread.php?p=187335#post187335
    http://www.techspot.com/vb/topic27452.html (Kygoo82)
    http://www.techspot.com/vb/topic16994-pg12.html&pp=20 (swat)
    http://www.techspot.com/vb/topic16994-pg12.html&pp=20 (bughi)
    http://www.techspot.com/vb/topic16994-pg9.html&pp=20 (sonica)

    Faulty hardware not relate to ram
    http://www.techspot.com/vb/topic32555.html
    http://www.techspot.com/vb/showthre...7505#post187505
    http://www.techspot.com/vb/topic16994-pg9.html&pp=20
    http://www.techspot.com/vb/showthre...3666#post163666
  5. cpc2004

    cpc2004 Newcomer, in training Posts: 2,044

    Hi

    Search google with keyword "w22n51.sys" or "40054b01" and you will find the solution.
  6. whiternoise

    whiternoise Newcomer, in training Posts: 99

    Is it possible that my problem is not RAM related. In your previous responses you mentioned AVG, could that be the problem?
  7. chrisben337

    chrisben337 Newcomer, in training

    fixed...I hope...

    Off of some of your suggestions to other users, I reseated my memory and that seemed to do the trick. I haven't had the problem since. Thanks for your help!
  8. cpc2004

    cpc2004 Newcomer, in training Posts: 2,044

    You've uninstalled ZoneAlarm and AVG but the system still crashed. If you want to diagnostic which memory stick is faulty, report the problem to microsoft.
  9. cpc2004

    cpc2004 Newcomer, in training Posts: 2,044

    Hi,

    Great!! Your problem is resolved.
  10. KorruptioN

    KorruptioN Newcomer, in training

    Don't forget about me. :)
  11. cpc2004

    cpc2004 Newcomer, in training Posts: 2,044

    Hi,

    Do you un-install nVidia Firewall? Let me know if you still have proble,.
     
  12. cpc2004

    cpc2004 Newcomer, in training Posts: 2,044

    Hi,

    Mostl of your crashes are caused by Instruction misaligned. It may be cuases by faulty ram or motherboard. Diagostic memory problem is more easy than motherboard. Diagnostic whether your ram is faulty or not.

    You can run memtest to stress the ram. If memtest reports the ram is faulty, ram is bad. However Memtest is not a perfect tool to test the memory as some faulty can pass memtest.

    Suggestion
    1. Reseat the memory stick to another memory slot
    2. Downclock the ram
    3. Clean the inside the computer case
    4. Make sure that the ram is compatible to the motherboard
    If it still crashes, diagnostic which memory stick is faulty

    1. Take out one memory stick. If windows does not crash, the removed memory stick is faulty.
  13. sgt

    sgt Newcomer, in training

    ...me too...now system is DEAD

    System's down and I can't seem to be able to get it going...

    Woke up the other day to find it was not running. (on all the time for the hub). It wouldn't turn off either exscept at the main switch. When I turned it back on it gave me 'the blue screen of death' with an error message relating to memory (has two 512mg that have been just fine)...so I changed the memory. It rebooted and I was able to get into safe mode, but I couldn't find anything wrong, so I thought to refresh the system by booting to cd and repairing any files that needed repair. No go...system hung.

    Tried to reboot and again, had to use the main switch (this I don't understand at all)...then lost the video.

    The power supply (500) appears to be working fine...but nothing else. Tried another video card...nope.

    I don't know what to try next. Any ideas, guys?
  14. KorruptioN

    KorruptioN Newcomer, in training

    I've tested the memory in another known-stable computer with memtest86+, no errors. The RAM is Corsair XMS3200XL, so it is not of inferior quality. The CPU (AthlonXP 2500+ Mobile) and power supply (OCZ Powerstream 420W) are new...

    What is instruction misaligned? Is it caused by a driver?
  15. cpc2004

    cpc2004 Newcomer, in training Posts: 2,044

    Hi,

    Maybe software problem but unlikely. If you believe this is software problem, report the problem to microsoft and they develop windows.

    You are wasting your time to test the ram at another PC. Memtest is not reliable tools to test memory. Reseat the memory or downclock the ram may resolve the problem.
  16. whiternoise

    whiternoise Newcomer, in training Posts: 99

    well i'll check the RAM, but here are a couple of the latest dumps...
  17. aenima666

    aenima666 Newcomer, in training

    I got it don't worry...


    You are totally right, I fixed it myself. What I was sayin is not to jump to conclusion that it is faulty RAM all the time. The problem here was physical. The new master HD Maxtor didn't like to have a slave HD with a jumper in slave position. To work efficiently, it had to be setted on cable select. Since then I absolutely had no crash.

    Furthermore, To make sure it wasn't my RAM I had to remove one by one to test them. I tested them separately with MemTest86 and then together. Then again no error on my RAM. Afterwards, knowing the RAM was alright, I had to test the clockage that is why I downgraded it to manual clockage instead of 2.4GHz. Then again it wasn't solving the problem.

    I know you guys do all this on spare time and everything, but still, you chose to be tech in this forum, just beware of what you say, people might spend a fortune to fix their problems when the problem could be solved by other means.

    I hope this will help other to fix similar problem, and don't take me wrong cause I know what it is to solve problems, that's what I do all day being a tech myself. In most of the cases you have done a tremendous job, so it's not cause you failed one time that you are a bad tech.

    I was mad cause I had posted the info you required and you asked it again, that's why I reacted that way. So no arm, I will still continue to visit and promote your forums cause they provide a lot of pertinent information and solutions to miscellaneous subjects. So far everyone I refered to this site has been amazed so please take all benefit.

    All the best,
  18. FraglessOne

    FraglessOne Newcomer, in training

    Similar issues.

    I have been javing simmilar issues and have been getting the same 3 stop errors. I have upgraded every component of my systems excluding my hard disks. I have run memtest86 for a lenth of 10 passes with no errors. I keep getting the bsod driver_irql_not_less_or_equal. Other blue screens have do not have tat listed at the top. I also keep getting theses two stop errors as well. oxoooooo8e and 0x0000000a. I tried to roll back my nvidia drivers to the version od which you have recommended to several people as a stable driver, but unfortunately that driver does not support dual 6600gts in an SLI arrangement. I am running all of the latest drivers on my system, including the new beta drivers from nvidia, which are said to fix problems with counterstrike source crashes after the 9/23 update from valve. Running windows xp pro sp2 with all updates. I uninstalled symantec anitvirus and have also chose to not install the nvidia firewall. I am at my wits end. I have been scouring many forums and support pages and I am just a little irritated at not being able o find a solution to the problem. My system specs are in my profile. I keep getting these errors about every 10 minutes to every hour. Sometimes even more frequently then that. I would like to thank you guys in advance, for any advice or solutions. Thank you very much.
     
  19. cpc2004

    cpc2004 Newcomer, in training Posts: 2,044

    Hi,

    Thanks for your reply. I am not the tech of this forum. I don't know the owner of this forum. I am here to help other people. I always provide my best answer. You must understand my answer is not always correct and it is responsiblity of the problem owner to judge my solution. Even Mircosoft may provide incorrect answer. It is interesting to know the cable select cause BSOD and it is amazing.
  20. cpc2004

    cpc2004 Newcomer, in training Posts: 2,044

    Hi aenima666

    Your problems has multiple culprits. The hard disk cable and the ram. The memory problem is related to bad conatct between the ram and memory slot. You can refer this forum and there have a lot of resolved cases by reseating memory sticks. Bugcheck 8E and D1 are related to memory problem. Bugcheck code 7A is related to faulty paging space because the cable setting.

    Let me know if you find a forum that their answer is 100% correct.
  21. cpc2004

    cpc2004 Newcomer, in training Posts: 2,044

    Hi

    I've investigate your minidumps. The culprit is ram. You can run memtest to stress the ram. If memtest reports the ram is faulty, ram is bad. However Memtest is not a perfect tool to test the memory as some faulty can pass memtest.

    Suggestion
    1. Reseat the memory stick to another memory slot
    2. Downclock the ram
    3. Clean the dust inside the computer case
    4. Make sure that the ram is compatible to the motherboard

    If it still crashes, diagnostic which memory stick is faulty
    1. Take out one memory stick. If windows does not crash, the removed memory stick is faulty.
    2. If you have only one memory stick, replace the ram
  22. FraglessOne

    FraglessOne Newcomer, in training

    If you notice in the above I already ran memtest. I let run it through 10 times and there were no errors of anysort. Also I have used different sticks of ram as well and ran memtest, again no errors of anysort. Most of the time my computer restarts and I don't get a bsod even though I have the restart after an error turned off. Most of my errors occure whne playing counterstrike source. When I am just browsing the internet crashes are far less often. I belive the main culprit is the 9/23 update from valve, which limits which drivers I can use. The proble, being that my system is not happy with those drivers. Because when I look at microsfts error reporting summaryies they always point to a device driver and do not specify what driver is causing the error. I belive the issue is a combined effort of nvidia's unstable new drivers and valv'es last toupdates conflicting with nvidia's drivers. I am thinking about switchung to omega drivers and seeing if that solves my problem. But I thank you for looking at the minidumps. If you want I can post fresher dumps. But in the meantime I am going to switch to the omega drivers, and see if that helps.
  23. cpc2004

    cpc2004 Newcomer, in training Posts: 2,044

    Hi,

    It is worthwhile to downclock the memory stick and clean up the dust inside your PC. I've read over 1500 minidumps and I can't any device driver error at your minidumps. Report the problem to microsoft, if you think it is device driver error.
  24. aerial

    aerial Newcomer, in training

    Hello everyone! i saw so many other people with problems similar to mine that i thought that i would post mine and see what would happen. i have been having a problem with my pc since i bought it about a month ago. it crashes about once everyday, sometimes more or less. it's guaranteed that it will be crashed when i come home from school.

    when i first got crash, it was driver irql that pointed at a netlimiter file, but i have uninstalled that, still bsod. then it pointed to tcpip.sys. i tried to patch that, then i reinstalled windows xp media center edition 2005, still bsod.

    as far as i know, the crashes seem to happen more often when i try to use a downloading, like bitcomet. but if you need me to answer more questions, i'd be happy to. here is debuglog (i would have more, but my pc forced me to reformat my c drive because i made the mistake of pushing 'f10' once while trying to boot into bios)
  25. ApolloHollister

    ApolloHollister Newcomer, in training

    Please help me! this is driving me nuts! and it points to HTTP.sys, idk if that helps or not.
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.