driver_irql_not_less_or_equal - XP home will no longer start

Status
Not open for further replies.
I posted this in the drivers forum too, but am reposting here as you will see it is probably more of a software problem despite the error message given the way it occurred.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Let me preface this by saying that I am self taught and am just computer literate enough to be dangerous. Anyway, here is my problem-

I have a Compaq Presario 5311 SR at home running windows XP home. I was downloading the service pak 2 last week and my toddler pushed the power button when it seemed to be about 75 % installed. When I turned the computer on I got a windows message saying that the installation did not compete and that I needed to uninstall the service pack in the control panel and then reinstall it from scratch. Anyway, I proceeded to do this and then when it was almost done uninstalling the computer froze. I turned it back on and it asked me if I wanted to boot using a previous operating system or if I wanted to run XP Media Center. This makes no sense as I never had this version installed and have only had XP home on this computer. The prevously installed operating system did not work and when I clicked to start media center, the XP home screen came up and it started to load . . . then right before the loading was complete, the computer rebooted. This problem was just a loop, and it kept rebooting itself every time XP tried to load.

OK, now I tried to get wise and put in the XP CD and ran a repair install. It seemed to work, but did not finish. It enountered a problem right near the end of the repair (35 minutes later) and rebooted itself. Now, when I turn the computer on, it at least gives me XP home as a choice and no longer says anything about Media edition. However, when I select that choice, windows starts to load and then gives me the BSOD that reads :

driver_irql_not_less_or_equal