DualBoot Vista-Fedora (1 OS on externall USB HDD)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, I`ve been looking for a way to get working dual boot, no success so far.
I have Vista installed on my PC, no troubles at all, booting fine.
A while ago I installed Fedora on a new externall USB HDD 500GB (Samsung S2). Installation OK, there is a bootsector, menu.lst as well. My BIOS can recognize HDD, and I can boot from USB stick. But something doesn`t work, or I am missing something, I am no expert, just following all the guides I can find on the net (so often incomplete or messy), I just can not boot from USB HDD. I`ve tried using EasyBCD and GAG software, no luck.
There must be something specific to booting from USB HDD perhaps. Or is it a problem that I have two NTFS partitions on the HDD too (no OS though, just a storage)? There`s a lot of experts with guides on how to install and dual boot two different OS from one HDD... But what about one OS being installed on externall USB HDD?

It works now

In case it might be helpful to somebody, here is what I`ve done to get it work.
It seemed to me that the main problem was in the mbr of the disc. Probably it can be placed just to the first sector of the HDD, so there has to be space available in the very beginning of the disc. Since there was NTFS partition with no OS as the first partition, the external HDD was without mbr being present actually, and thus placing a boot sector anywhere was pointless. There might be a better explanation, I`m just a beginner.