Emachines mobo & PS fried, changed and now audio device not recognized

Status
Not open for further replies.
Newbie here, just getting into working on my computers.

I have an old eMachines T2895, 2.8 GHz celeron, 120 GB Hdd, 512 Mb DDR RAM, Realtek ALC655 onboard audio chip, running on XP home.

Here is my issue. The notorious eMachine power supply fried, taking the mobo with it. The old mobo is an MSI 6714 GV. I replaced the PS with a good one from newegg. I found a used mobo from a supply house, but it was a newer revision mobo. Its a MSI 6714 GVP. After installation, everything works fine, except no audio devices recognized or listed. Reloaded drivers from manu website, but nothing. Could it be that the hardware is not added? Where is the add hardware options located? Could this be because the mobo was previously using a sound card? If so, how do i change the settings back to onboard audio? Can anyone suggest why audio devices aren't being recognized, or what my problem might be?

All help would be appreciated.

Hello! Welcome to TechSpot!

Un-install any audio software.
In "device manager" look for any "yellow "?" ", if none, check the bios for audio settings.
If it had a sound card previously then the onboard audio has been disabled in the bios.

G'Luck

Since he swapped mobos, wouldn't the default soundsetting in BIOS be ON/Enabled ?
You may not only need audio drivers, but mobo-drivers as well, corresponding with the onboard chipset.

RUstoney2 said:
I found a used mobo from a supply house, but it was a newer revision mobo. Its a MSI 6714 GVP.
RealBlackStuff said:
Since he swapped mobos, wouldn't the default soundsetting in BIOS be ON/Enabled ?
Normally I would think so too, I only suspected the "audio off" since it was a used MoBo.
I believe if he has windows installed w/o sound working, bios was good place to start looking.
Hope he posts back.

Thanks for the suggestions.