email hijackers

By samlhop
Mar 14, 2005
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. need help with email hijackers

this is my first try at posting please bare with me. i have found falowing threads vary helpfull in the past.
    im runing xp home + sp2, on a dell laptop. i use mozila and fierfox not a big fan of bill G. & IE. use spybot, hyjackthis, adawareSE, spywareblaster, and macafe sercurity. i kep them all updated and run most once a day.

today 3/14/05 i got the email i copyed below. it looks to me like fierfox got hyjacked and is being used to spam. there is no record in my outbox and i dont know the address. last time this hapend it was (mydoom) and i resalved it by falowing the directions on a thread hear at techspot.

dose anybody have any direction for me on whare to start. the email has 2 atachments. if i right click opin on the info line for the second i get
    mailbox:///c|/documents%20and%20settings/samlhop/app......... thats all i can see. no other simaler complants have come back to me.

how should i proced? thanks for your input. sam hopkins

BANNED FILENAME ALERT

Your message to: email removed
    was blocked by our Spam Firewall. The email you sent with the following subject has NOT BEEN DELIVERED:

Subject: Server Error (email removed)

An attachment in that mail was of a file type that the Spam Firewall is set to block.

Final-Recipient: rfc822; email removed
    Action: failed
    Diagnostic-Code: smtp; 550 5.7.1 Message content rejected, id=31351-02-3 - BANNED: data20342.pif
    Last-Attempt-Date: Mon, 14 Mar 2005 08:33:36 -0500 (EST)

Received: from leapsoft.com (unknown [64.69.113.221])
    by barracuda.leapsoft.com (Spam Firewall) with ESMTP id E2FFB2011030
    for <email removed>; Mon, 14 Mar 2005 08:33:33 -0500 (EST)
    To:email removed
    Subject: Server Error (email removed)
    Date: Mon, 14 Mar 2005 08:33:32 -0500
    MIME-Version: 1.0
    Content-Type: multipart/mixed;