Fan- with 2 wires?

Status
Not open for further replies.

rogue12

Hi all,

Just a small question im looking to add a fan to my comp to exhaust the heat out, the only fan i can get has 1 red and 1 black wire (about 20cm long) coming out of it, im at ends on how i would install it in the computer as i heard that fans come with 3 pin connectors or something that simply you plug into the motherboard.

Thanks for any help.

A standard fan just has the power lead (red and black), others are designed to plug on to the board and as such can be either controlled or monitored by the motherboard, these can have 3 wires.

To connect a standard 2 pin plug you can either feed it directly from one of the molex plugs using an adaptor cable or see if your board has a 2 pin power socket.

Im no expert in modding and cooling, this is based on general use of a PC.

Regards

You should be able to use the 2 wire in the 3 wire slot, depending on how your MOBO is setup. You could buy Y ends to convert the two over to 3 wire, those are cheap.

rogue12 said:
the only fan i can get
why is that the only fan you can get? fans only cost a few bucks each.

rogue12 said:
has 1 red and 1 black wire (about 20cm long) coming out of it
if it's a standard 12VDC fan, then the red wire should be +12v and the black wire should be ground. if it's not a standard 12VDC fan, then those wires could be anything ;)

rogue12 said:
im at ends on how i would install it in the computer as i heard that fans come with 3 pin connectors or something that simply you plug into the motherboard
fans made for computers will have either a 3-pin mini fan connector (4-pin for a PWM fan), or a 4-pin molex connector (same as your PATA HDDs or CD/DVD drives).