Fatal Crashes and Restarts

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi All. New User here and serious PC gamer but I'm no techie - just a player.

I had a friend build a new rig for me in the summer with the following specs:
Intel Mobo (onboard sound)
P4 3.4gb
2gb DDR2
Nvida 7800 (MSI NX7800)
160gb HD
2 LG DVD burners / CDRWs
420w PS
My OS is XP Pro

My problems seem to come in certain games resulting in a restart of the machine. Worse still, the restarts happen at the exact same moment. Here are 3 examples:

In San Andreas, the rig will restart when I enter a house to save the game - every time. In Chronicles of Riddick (which came with the vid card), I get a restart at the very end after firing the last shot into the boss. As he falls down dead - restart every time. I had the same problem early in FEAR (2nd lvl I think) where it restarted at the same point twice in a row, but I made it past the 3rd time. I'm almost at the end now and haven't had another problem...yet.

Those games may be system hogs, but the problem happens also at a certain point in Neverwinter Nights and its expansions. This game is 3 years old and should not be giving me any issues.

Random crashes are normal from time to time in PC gaming, but I could never know in advance when it might happen. Worse still, these games all ran fine on my old system with about 1/3 the juice so I find this completely intolerable.

If it helps, I should mention as well that in addition to the games mentioned above, I've put the rig through its paces with the following other high-performace games with no problems. (all at max settings or very close to it)

HL2
Far Cry
Splinter Cell Choas Theory
(all 3 from start to finish)
Battlefield 2 (albeit with very little time played so far)
Pacific Fighters

Changing the settings of the affected games doesn't seem to make any difference. Of course, I have resinstalled / patched, etc.

Any thoughts? Thanks in advance.