Faulty Mobo or CPU need advice before I buy

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi guys,
I need a bit of advice, I have been working with PCs for several years now and some of that in a hardware support role, but this one has stumped me.

I have a Athlon 2200+, MSI KT4 Ultra Mobo, 500W PSU, 1 Gb RAM, 60Gb Hard Disk, Geforce 4 and Soundblaster Live, (and the usual otehr PC Gubbins)

I built the machine about 18 months ago and everything was fine. However, two problems have started to show. The first is that I started to get IRQ_NOT_LESS_THAN_OR_EQUAL errors with the obvious BSOD that goes with it, this happened during gameplay sometimes but always on shutdown or if I booted from the Win XP CD. I found that if I downclocked the FSB to 100MHz (making my CPU a 1500+) then it all works ok. So I figured it must be the RAM so I changed it, but the same errors started when I bumped the FSB back up to 133MHz. I have also since tried removing and/or changing every component but no diffrence. I did however read that MSI has problems with the AGP port and the FSB when running at 133MHz so I therefore think it must be the mobo.

To confirm this I started getting a keyboard or mouse is not connected error on boot so I had to restart it to get past the POST screen, again I thought Mobo, but I changed the PSU back to the one that came with the case and that error dissapeared, but again couldnt run the FSB at 133MHz.

So in conclusion, should I get a new Mobo or CPU or what do you guys think?

Cheers
Magnus

that IRQL thing is supposed to be a IRQ conflict issue, or that you have bad drivers or hardware. I got a similar screen on my DFI Lanparty Ultra II A and it went away after disabling all onboard devices and doing a clean reinstall. after the reinstall, i enabled everything that i use again, and it detected it fine and runs great.