file:///c:/secure32.html autosys.exe

Status
Not open for further replies.

baehan

my laptop has not had any problems until recently. over the weekend, when i start my laptop, it automatically pops up IE trying to get to a website www.coloradosheep.com/accounting/........... really odd since i've never tried to go to that website before. i close that window and open up IE and i received an error that says "Cannot fine 'file:///c:/secure32.html'." i ultimately cannot use IE anymore. i use this laptop for everything and have a lot of files on there. is this autosys.exe something that i should reformat to resolve? can i follow your steps to cleaning up my laptop and feel secure that the issue is resolved? if i have to reformat, can i transfer all my files to my desktop without worrying that the virus will follow to the other pc?

thanks for your help.

Hello and welcome to TechSpot.

I believe that this is some type of malware causing this problem. I don't know what you use your laptop for, but in any case, don't move files from your laptop to your desktop. Please read this thread: If your system is infected. Read this before deciding whether to CLEAN or REFORMAT.

Depending on what you use your computer for, you may want to reformat instead of cleaning it.

If, after reading the above thread, you decide to clean your system, check out this thread: Viruses/spyware/malware, preliminary removal instructions. Follow all the instructions exactly, then post fresh HJT and AVG logs as attachments into this thread.

Cheers :)

This thread is for the use of baehan only. Please don`t post your own virus/spyware problems in this thread. Instead, open a new thread in the Security and the Web forum.