File Sharing/Hosting

Status
Not open for further replies.

electricvoices

Since this is still related to the other topic i posted, I figured I would just start another one instead of going on with the other one forever. Can someone please describe the process of getting a hosting domain & where to get one & for how much? I would like to know where to get the domain, how much it would cost per month/year, what kind of software I should use for the FTP sharing, & how to set the options up so this will work from any PC either inside or outside my local LAN. Also, if you do purchase a domain does that still put you in breach with your local ISP? I'm really new to the networking/sharing stuff & it's all a learning experience for me still. For whoever replies I really appreciate your help!

P.S. -- FREE PUNCH & PIE!! :grinthumb

What is this for? Do you want to host stuff on your home computer or do you need a dedicated server with a fast internet connection in some hosting company?

At the simplest, you go to www.dyndns.org and register a free hostname. Then you configure your router or the computer to update the hostname whenever your IP address changes. Now you can access your computer from anywhere on the internet using your registered hostname.

Use some free FTP server software. Which one works for you, depends on what your needs are. Just try out some of the programs locally until you find what you like. After that you just set up your firewall and the router so that people can access FTP from the internet.

electricvoices said: