Finally better gaming with D-Link DGL 4500

Status
Not open for further replies.

rmdl51

Hello! some time ago I posted my bad experience while gaming with consoles (PS3, Wii) and after suggestions and some research I bought the D Link DGL 4500

So far it works good on gaming but I am a completely noob for such a sofisticated router, I mean I see features I never seen before and I would like to know if someone could guide me through a basic write up on how to get the best out of my new router.

I currently don't have any n devices so I don't mind about that so much, but my range sucks, a PC through a wall about 20 ft i got only 3 bars of signal strenght, however ping at 46ms with 1Mbps download and 468kbps upload.

Gaming consoles are working better than ever, not a single drop out after 2 hours of continuosly playing.

I still think my signal should be better, with an old belkin G plus MIMO I got 5 bars however the conection wasn't consistent.

Any advice will be highly appreciate it, Thanks!

The most I can tell you would be to refer to the manual and read up on it. I did read some of the specs on it, and the wireless signal can be increased from 2.4 GHz to 5 GHz. I'm not sure on what you can do with this model as I've never had one or read up on it much.

Edit: Do you know how to login to configure your settings, and if so let me know if this matches anything on the control panel.

http://img167.imageshack.us/my.php?image=dlinkyw0.jpg

xXxZxXx said:
and the wireless signal can be increased from 2.4 GHz to 5 GHz.
Frequency can be changed. Some WiFi's have adjustable signal strength.

Moving from 2.4 -> 5 ghz would be good, but ONLY if the system card can also change the frequency being used :)

I think this is not the case, since PS3 and Wii are 802.11g and as far as I know that's in the range of 2.4Ghz, besides I need to keep the compatibility for 802.11b since the PSP is b only.