Frame Skip/Small Lag Problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

Neptunus

Hey, im new to this community, but i know a little about computers :).

My problem is that recently my computer has started to frame skip in games.
I have no idea why or how this has started, and i would hope that u guys here at Techspot could help me out. The 2 games i have been playing recently are Warcraft 3 TFT, and Microsoft Flight Simulator 2004. The frame skipping started about 5 days ago. The games ran extremly well before that. I have tried to defragment both C and D Hard-drives, but it didnt help. I have also checked for any problems in the Drives, but they seem to be fine. I think the frame skip is because i have dust in my computer ( laptop ), but i do not wish to open up the case, since i am not very good at that stuff.

My specs are:
1.5 Ghz Intel Pentium M Processor ( It is the same as 2.6 ghz Intel Pentium 4 )
512 MB Ram
Ati Mobility Radeon 9700 128 MB.

Hope that u can help me out with this problem. :)

Lag problems like that can be caused by low harddrive space. How much space do u have total/used?

4.19 G in C:
16.2 G in D: Where all of my games are installed.

Total space in C is: 19.5 G
Total space in D is: 36.3 G

I think the frame skip is because i have dust in my computer ( laptop ), but i do not wish to open up the case, since i am not very good at that stuff.
You can use a can of compressed air to dislodge some of that dust inside, without opening the laptop up.. but try not to make the fans spin furiously..

I assume you've already tried basic hdd maintainance like defrag and chkdsk /f etc? Check what programs are running in the background and taking up resources, try and close them (non essential ones only, so leave the firewall/AV software etc running, unless you have norton, in which case reply with your next post). Have you tried looking for updated drivers for your laptop?