TechSpot

free cable with cable modem???

By biohazard_1985
Apr 21, 2007
  1. I ordered cable modem from "Cox Communications", (it'll be here this monday) and now im startin to think if its possible to get a splitter and run it to the tv and have "basic cable"...i don't know if it will work, but several people at my work-place says it does work....right now i got DSL runnin off a router (well my bros do, im just using theres for now.....and the router splits up and goes into 3 other rooms) and im a downloader,lol, and everytime start downloadin something, my bros or step-dad comes in my room and starts bitchin about the internet being to slow, so i end up pausing the download and have to wait until everybody gets settled down for bed ya know...(everybodys been there before,lol)..thats why i decided to make the switch to cable modem, i mean its faster, uh, faster.....oh, and more faster,lol....AND, hence the idea of watchin tv while i got a download goin ya know....so if its possible to get basic cable with just only being suscribed to cable modem, that would be kick ***, ya know,lol, so any help on this would be great...thanks...
     
  2. captaincranky

    captaincranky TechSpot Addict Posts: 10,967   +955

    Hmmm......

    I'm not certain you're allowed this line of "investigation" in this forum. But by all means, hang out and wait for a second opinion.
     
  3. biohazard_1985

    biohazard_1985 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    oh, so your saying that your not curious to even plug your cable wire from your modem to your tv, just to see if you got cable tv as well?????? thats like "ordering an 8800 gtx video card and you accidently get 2 of them shipped to ya and instead of one....ya know.....if you got somethin "free", why correct it or say somethin about, ya know....i wouldn't,lol.....
     
  4. twite

    twite TechSpot Paladin Posts: 1,083

    Ok, first off, that is illegal. But, to answer your question, i believe it does work.
     
  5. Ididmyc600

    Ididmyc600 TechSpot Chancellor Posts: 2,251

    Surely to have a cable television service you would need some kind of cable television box to decode the signals, apart from which unless the cable company instruct their computers to send a cable TV signal down the line then your only going to get an internet service,

    I speak from England where NTL (now Virgin Media) supply the service, I have 1 cable coming into the house which is split between a cable modem and a Samsung cable decoder, NTL can switch of either without interupting the service to the other.

    Might not be the same with you though..

    Regards
     
  6. twite

    twite TechSpot Paladin Posts: 1,083

    With Cox (i have them too)..the cable box is an option, where you have to pay an extra $6 a month for digital service..and $12 for HD. But..if your television has a built in tuner..then you can just plug the coax straight into your t.v. and get basic cable.
     
  7. captaincranky

    captaincranky TechSpot Addict Posts: 10,967   +955

    Orwellian tellevisian......

    I'm saying I live in a place where everything is scrambled, even my thoughts.
    Comcast, Verizon, I'm on the east coast of the colonies, and Big Brother really frowns on such behaviors. Besides I can't afford cable, I've been spending all my money at Newegg.
     
  8. Tedster

    Tedster Techspot old timer..... Posts: 10,074   +13

    you should be able to pick up analog cable, but not paying for the service is theft. Most cable companies will assume you will split the signal however, and charge you accordingly.
     
  9. biohazard_1985

    biohazard_1985 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    is there a way that they can see what your doin? cause im not sayin that im gonna do it, im just sayin that when a download is gonna take like 2 hrs, and you remember hearing somethin about a tv show being on...it'll be kool to just split the signal and watch some good ol' tv and wait for the download to finish ya know....im still gonna upgrade to basic cable, that was just a thought i had, ya know....like "in the mean-time" type of thing...
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.