Freezing while moving folders

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am experiencing a strange problem and am in need of help because im not a techie myself so i'm hoping you guys can help me :)

whenever i attempt to move a file, for example a picture from my desktop into a folder that is also on my desktop or vice versa, the file will move and display that it is in the folder or on the desktop, but the message "moving 1 item" remains. the bar showing the time it takes to move is complete, and the time remaining displays as 'calculating'

in addition every time i also attempt to rename a file or edit a file in any way i experience the same problem.

additional notes: rundll32.exe crashes very often for me. could it be related?

i ran a virus scan with no results.

my solution: restart explorer.exe

that works every time and gets rid of the message, however you can realize why this is an annoyance to me.

please help :(

We need to know your brand and model, and age of the computer... as well as configuration: hard drive make and size, memory make and size, cooling system, and power supply brand and power rating.
Otherwise, we are just guessing without a reference point.

I can imagine how annoying it must be.

Please follow Raybays suggestion as well, its needed information

You may be missing some vital system files, you could run either a chkdsk or a SFC (system file checker). It is up to you, chkdsk requires you to restart the computer and SFC requires your operating system disk if it needs to replace any files.

To run chkdsk.

Start > Run > type cmd > Type chkdsk /f /r > Press Y > Then restart your computer and let it do the check

To run SFC:

Start > Run >Type cmd > Type sfc /scannow > It will then run through and check your system files and prompt you to insert your OS disk if needed.

Not likely.
Help will flood you once we know your system.
Until then, avoid wild guesses, or the possibility of greater ;problems is as likley as a fix.

Not likely?