Frozen

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am not sure if this is the right place to post this, but please someone keep me from killing my computer. I have posted this in another forum and they were stumped so I am trying again. I am a newbie, please forgive me if I don't give you all the information you need.

I previously had a problem with my computer freezing. When I say freezing I don't mean it hung up or slowed, I mean it stopped. Like it said "hey I am tired" and just STOPPED. I would have reset or cut the power and reboot. I tried formatting and reinstalling windows as the computer was two years old and had never been formatted. That didn't work and it finally got to a point where it wouldn't boot up at all. I would get to the windows screen with the blue bar across the bottom hear a click and it would reboot.

We first thought it was the power supply, replaced it. The problem persisted so my sister thought it was the hard drive as did my BF, I thought it was the motherboard. Majority rules and I bought a new hard drive. Hey guess what, I was right, the problem persited and so I replaced the motherboard and the processor.

Everything was working fine for 2 weeks until it started freezing again on the weekend. I barely have anything on it. I have run virus scanners and malware/spyware scanners. I have run pcpitstop.

I am at a loss. I can't imagine it is any of the hardware as I have replaced the powersupply, motherboard, processors hard drive (the old hard drive is working fine and is running as the slave right now), I bought new ram so I now have two sticks of 512 (one old and one new). I am running windows XP, I have McAfee, I have a firewall (sygate), spybot search and destroy and I was running spyware doctor.

Please someone, give me some ideas before I turn it into a very expensive door stop.

Thank you.

hi aprilg.