TechSpot

Games, Apart from Vietcong

By Cypher2006
Jan 25, 2006
  1. I have already installed Vietcong Fist Alpha and that works ok as usual, but COD doesnt it cuts out. but the two time it has cut out it hasnt rebooted my pc. the screen instantly goes black and thats it nothing, the fans are still going it sounds lyk my pc is workin properly but the monitor is off, and no command will make anything appear on screen so then i must reboot, does anyone know what causes this.
     
  2. Jimbo420

    Jimbo420 TS Rookie Posts: 356

    When it cuts out does it do it right away when you start up the game or does it start up and be going along fine and then it just suddenly blanks?
     
  3. Cypher2006

    Cypher2006 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 64

    well as i say i can play Vietcong for hours at a time and its fine, but like medal of honor and Call Of Duty, sometimes i can only get to the menu screen and the picture just goes, instantly
     
  4. Jimbo420

    Jimbo420 TS Rookie Posts: 356

    Are you running both games at the same resolutions and settings?
     
  5. Cypher2006

    Cypher2006 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 64

    yeah pretty much, 800x600 but on VC it says what hz to run at it just autodetects 85hz but its pretty much all the same
     
  6. Jimbo420

    Jimbo420 TS Rookie Posts: 356

    Weird. I would double check make sure you video card drivers are up todate and try reinstalling the games.
     
  7. Cypher2006

    Cypher2006 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 64

    well i have a borrowed Geforce 2 GTS and i cant install the latest Drivers it wont allow it, i have 71.89 drivers at the moment, maybe because the card is too old, i am going to buy a Geforce 5500 soon just as temp for this pc because i am buyin new one and this one needs a GPU, maybe it works then i will post
     
  8. Jimbo420

    Jimbo420 TS Rookie Posts: 356

    There's your probelm I believe. I am pretty sure that Call of Duty and Medal of Honor both require at least Geforce3 cards.
     
  9. Cypher2006

    Cypher2006 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 64

    maybe, in my other posts people say it might b my PSU but there arent many places that sell Micro ATX PSU's...
     
  10. Cypher2006

    Cypher2006 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 64

Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...