geforce ti 4200

Status
Not open for further replies.

ShoeyFighter

Hi. I have been having recent troubles with my machine (namely graphics). After a format of my system, and a lot of searching on the internet, I have come to believe that my problem is with either my system RAM or my video cards (geforce ti 4200) RAM. When I play games, the system will lockup and there will be various strange patterns on the screen. When I run DXDiag, using DirectX 7 interfaces, it works fine, but 8 and 9 fail miserably.

Can anyone confirm or deny this? Also, if it is a video card problem, can help me figure out if/how to replace it (it is a PNY vid card)?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

it could be your ram run a memory test on it, it could alsow be your graphics card if you need to replace it get a 9500 non-pro and use the omega drives great performence:D

So how exactly does that work (as you can probably see, I'm new to this...)?

Do I contact them before hand and let them now I am sending it, or do I just send it with all the information?

I sent mine back only to find that the new one did the same and It was after all my motherboard that did not support 8xagp but would not let the card run correctly on 4x, It had worked for 6 months without a problem prior to this, It works fine with my Asus A78XN

What drivers are you using? HAve you tried a couple of different versions of them to see if that could be the problem?
What about your DirectX? You say that 7 works but 8 and 9 don't? I assume you mean the tests done during dxdiag.
You also mention a format, was this before or after the problem started?

The symptoms you gave could be a bad card, but I would not condemn it until I checked everything else first. Seems everyone here is ready to toss the card(as usual) but you have to actually determine that is the problem first, else you'll be even more upset if you discover it was simply a driver issue rather than hardware