GeForce4 ti 4400 slow frame rate

By StriderX
Mar 12, 2002
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GeForce4 Question

    Hello,

    I just bought a GeForce 4 ti 4400 and it seem that it is running alot slower than it is suppose to. For example, in the game Unreal Tournament I get around 75fps and it doesnt seem to go up much more than that. Now My question is, did I had to do something in the BIOS or change any settings so that it runs as it is suppose to or did I just pay $300 for nothing?

    Thanks,

    SX
  2. erwin1978

    erwin1978 TechSpot Maniac Posts: 327

    Perhaps you need to disable V-sync and increase the refresh rate of your monitor above 75Hz.
  3. StriderX

    StriderX Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    Nope

    I have my refresh rate set to 85Hz and I dont know how to disable v-sync although i dont think it is that (i might be wrong).

    Thx,

    SX
  4. SuperCheetah

    SuperCheetah Newcomer, in training Posts: 868

    Hi StriderX and welcome to 3DS!!! :)

    First of all, if you wouldn't mind, could you post some specs about your comp, like Mobo, CPU, memory, etc.

    There are also several threads about problems with the new G4's such as this one:

    http://www.3dspotlight.com/vb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=442

    I suggest trying different drivers and recording your results. Also, as Erwin suggeted change the V-sync to accomodate higher frame rates.
  5. Didou

    Didou Bowtie extraordinair! Posts: 5,899

    UT has never been known for high frame rates. UT is very intensive on your whole system rather then just your graphic card. You could put a GF4 4600 & not see much difference.
  6. StriderX

    StriderX Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    Specs

    I have an AMD XP 1800 CPU with an Asus A7A266 Mobo
    GeForce 4 TI 4400
    512 MB PC133 SDRAM
    60gb HDD

    I also runned a 3d benchmark from Madonion and it came up to be 6039 which I think it is much slower than it should be ( I expected around 7500 to 8000).

    Also I know UT is kinda old but I hear of people having 150+ fps.... maybe a lie.

    All I want is to really check if this 3d card is running as it should be.

    Thx again,

    SX
  7. erwin1978

    erwin1978 TechSpot Maniac Posts: 327

    I have a Geforce 256 DDR and I get around 60 fps average in UT in most maps. If I just have a wall in front of me I can get near 200 fps. Try that if you can kick your fps up. I would think a G4 would do even better. What OS are you using?

    Try using opengl or direct3D depending on what mode you're using now to see if you get a different result. You'll have to edit the unrealtournament.ini file in the systems folder of UT to check the vsync. Under [D3DDrv.D3DRenderDevice], make sure you see this: UseVSync=False.

    You need to look in the control panel of your nvidia video card to disable vsync for opengl.
  8. StriderX

    StriderX Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    I tried that and it is always 75fps, is like it is capped or something at 75 fps wont go higher. :(.... im crying already lol
  9. erwin1978

    erwin1978 TechSpot Maniac Posts: 327

    You won't really notice any difference above 60 fps and that 75 fps cap doesn't necessarily mean your card is running slow.

    You may have changed some settings that I don't know about or it's OS related.
  10. henrychieng

    henrychieng Newcomer, in training Posts: 70

    nah, i think ur card is defintely much faster than the Geforce ddr! I think i face this prob before! Can i just ask what monitor r u using? What's the max refresh rate u have for 1024 * 768 *32! As for mine i'm using LG Flatron 795 so i got 100mhz! in my game i only get 60max fps in CS! Guess what it's actually the build in refresh rate for win2k and winxp that adjust/cap it to 60fps!

    So all u need is a software called nvida refersh rate prog! Once installed and select the appropriate selection, i get back 100mhz in my cs too! Hehe!


    check out urself :-
    Nviia refresh rate fix
    To download go here!
  11. StriderX

    StriderX Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    My monitor is in 1024x768 16 bit mode and at 85Hz. Im using WinXPPro.
  12. henrychieng

    henrychieng Newcomer, in training Posts: 70

    No wonder!

    Anyway, us monitor max resolution is ur limitation! Another way to improve fps is to adjust to lower resolition said 800 / 640!Can't help much coz it's hdaware limitation! I think if u run 3dmark 2001se, then u will aprreciate ur card more! Btw, can i ask how much u got it! Cheers!
  13. Vehementi

    Vehementi TechSpot Paladin Posts: 3,199

    Try downloading the very latest drivers. If this doesn't fix it, then maybe what you're facing is overheating issues, or you have too many programs running in the background.

    What was your average FPS for some of the 3DMark demos?
     
  14. StriderX

    StriderX Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    How do I know which are the latest drivers?? I mean when I got to NVidia they just give me the detonator drivers and just one....

    I got 104 in the dragonair or whatevr demo and that was the highest. :(
  15. henrychieng

    henrychieng Newcomer, in training Posts: 70

    What ur score in ur 3dmark2001se? Give us more details like ur comp specs! That will help! And read the site that i gave u! Spoon feed u already and u still ask question like that! Sigh!Cheers!
  16. lokem

    lokem Newcomer, in training Posts: 773

    Go to:

    http://www.fileconnect.net/files.php?directory=Video/nVidia/

    Scroll down and the largest number should be the latest driver. A word of caution though, if you get the drivers from the aforementioned site, it's usually beta drivers. So if there's anything wrong with the display, switch to a lower version.
  17. henrychieng

    henrychieng Newcomer, in training Posts: 70

    but try to use 23.11 from nvidia website, all the rest r beta leaked driver! Anyway, it's a freewill man! cheers!
  18. lokem

    lokem Newcomer, in training Posts: 773

    Forgot to add that I haven't had any problems using the leaked drivers :D I'm sure a lot of pple can verify this as well ;)
  19. Th3M1ghtyD8

    Th3M1ghtyD8 TechSpot Paladin Posts: 794

    AFAIK no drivers other than 27.xx support GF4's or any GF4 specific features, this could explain your problem.

    Also most NVIDIA drivers are beta anyway.
  20. Arris

    Arris TechSpot Evangelist Posts: 4,508   +81

    He did post his computer specs.... And 3dmark....

    Check out the 3dspotlight Geforce 2/3/4 guide for details about refresh rates and all other settings for your card....
  21. StriderX

    StriderX Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    OK 1st of all Thx every1 for helping.

    Henry I got 6039 in 3dmark2001se like i said earlier. My comp specs are in an earlier post( just read up :) ).

    The reason I didnt download that is because my problem doesnt have to do with the monitor Hz rather than with fps and because I dont have enough info on that (peoples experiences and such). I dont want to jup the gun and then mess sopmething up more than it already is.

    By the way Arris I checked that and everything seems to be ok....im gonna try the NVmax next and see if that helps.


    If I get this resolved I will post it here.

    Thx again,

    SX
  22. henrychieng

    henrychieng Newcomer, in training Posts: 70


    Saw that ealierwhn arris posted it! Anyway, dun be so upset! Anyway, Ti4400 should be quite overclockable! Cheer up man! :cool:
  23. StriderX

    StriderX Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    :( Still working on it. :(
  24. Arris

    Arris TechSpot Evangelist Posts: 4,508   +81

    Does that mean you tried Nvmax? :confused:
  25. StriderX

    StriderX Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    I reformatted cause of other stoopid probs and installed everything brand new..... I still had the 75 fps prob but I used NVMAX and it got it up to 120 in UT ...if im alone i get up to 189fps...

    Im not completely happy(cause i still get same score in 3dmark2001se)...but it will have to do for now...

    Thx Arris and all who helped me.

    SX
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.