Getting started building a computer.

Status
Not open for further replies.

snacks

I already have one thread going, but this is on a different topic:
I'm new to things like building your own computer. I know a few things, but not enough to get started on one. So, what I need right now is how I should get started building a gaming PC. What parts I should start with, finding what parts are compatible, and choosing the reliable parts for a good price. I haven't taken much time to look around the site, so if anyone has some links to starting out, that would be appreciated also. Just ask if you need to know more specifics.

Please tell me where you live first.But this is the best way.
Buying a Dell etc.is the worst.
I just read your other post after i wrote the above.Dell is Hell.

As I said, I did not buy the Dell, my parents bought it so we would have another computer for work. The computer has worked completely fine, it's just that it's not meant for games, which is why I'm building my own because I have become interested in games. And if you have to know, I'm in the Chicago area.

snacks said:
I already have one thread going, but this is on a different topic:
I'm new to things like building your own computer. I know a few things, but not enough to get started on one. So, what I need right now is how I should get started building a gaming PC. What parts I should start with, finding what parts are compatible, and choosing the reliable parts for a good price. I haven't taken much time to look around the site, so if anyone has some links to starting out, that would be appreciated also. Just ask if you need to know more specifics.

Here's what I recommend For a budget Gaming PC

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6200 (I'd recommend a Core 2 Duo E6400, even though they are a little more expensive)

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3

RAM: Minimum 1GB DDR 2 533MHz

Power Supply: 400 Watt

Hard Drive: 120GB Sata 2.0