Graphical Problem - Stumped!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Drenholm

Ok, it all began a couple of months ago. I started playing World of Warcraft as usual when this happened...

Odd, I thought. So I did as most people probably would and restarted the game.. however this didn't work so I took the next step and restarted my PC.

Phew! Back to normal! Or so I thought..

The glitch eventually popped up again later so I'd just restart my computer again, this was a pain of course, and also rather worrying.

I then started to notice graphical glitches and artifacts appear on my desktop like this..

This is when i realised that something is really wrong.

Since then I have tried various video drivers (most of the recent certified/WHQL forceware stuff), which at first had seemed to work, but eventually there's been no real change. And over time the glitches seem to have got worse.

With my game looking like this

and my desktop ending up like this

"Maybe my graphics card is getting too hot." I thought. So I check that the fan still spins and for any dust that's clogged it up - nothing. My system says it's running between 55 and 59 degrees which I don't think is too bad, anyway.

So in the end i call the place that supplied the card and explained the problem.

"OK, bring it down and we'll give you a replacement."

They gave me a new card of different make (EVGA) but exactly the same spec.
Nice one! that's sure to fix it!

Not quite...

The desktop glitches have gone completely (for now at least *crosses fingers*), and games load up fine.. but tend only to last a couple of minutes or so until the image messes up, something like this, and the system crashes (although my power button soft shutdowns and it manages that most times).

I have also thoroughly ran memtest86, but that found nothing wrong

So my thoughts are it may be some kind of driver conflict with something else I have installed, but I've had no new software or hardware since.