Hard drives in Windows OS

I am new as of today to this forum, and I just wanted to say Thank You to everyone on the forum who is so willing to share their precious time and knowledge with the members!

I am a newb to the world of computers beyond just the daily use of email, internet, basic programs, etc. Although I have successfully installed some HD's and other peripherals!

I am hoping to expand my knowledge of computer hardware, os, etc. by reading this forum and asking questions for clarification.

We have a "Hackintosh" (hope that's not a swear word in the computing world)

I have done my best to detail our system info on my profile :blush:

FYI....Mac OS works great, all my problems seem to stem from Windows based HD's ;)

Anyways, thanks again for being a supportive and helpful community! Looking forward to one day being able to offer my assistance to other newbies :grinthumb

Hello Sydney (love the name, our 1yr girl is named Sydney :))

These forums are indeed fantastic for finding knowledge and the majority of the regular members on here are like walking computer bibles! :D

Hackintosh is sort of swearing though. Its actually illegal to use Mac OSX on anything other than Apple branded hardware. I only say this because quite a few people don't realise this. ;)

As for hard drives; Hard drives are hard drives. What they fit is defined in large part by the connection they are designed around. For example, I have a 256GB SSD (which uses a SATA connector) that fits both Mac's and Windows/linux PCs. This said SSD actually started its life in my iMac, before I fitted it to my Dell PC. They're totally transferable as long as the connections between the two different computers are the same. :D

oops! thanks for the head's up. I didn't know about the Mac/PC thing! :eek: