Hello and Help

By anthonyarena
Apr 6, 2004
  1. I am an attorney in Tampa, FL. Bacause I am a solo practitioner, I am also my computer administrator. I have joined this forum, because I have problems with my computers from time to time. Currently, I am having a problem with my computer that is affection my entire business.

I am running windows XP pro. I thought I had a virus, but now think I have a memory problem. I am trying to rule out software first.

When I start up, I get the following message:

Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt:

You can attempt to repair this file by starting Windows Setup using the original Setup CD-ROM.
    Select 'r' at the first screen to start repair.

When I go through the setup file to start repair, Windows XP asks me for the administrators password. I don't remember what the password is that I set. After three tries, I have to reboot and go through the setup again.

I have seen the thread that says this may be a bad memory problem, but I wanted to try to fix my windows installation first, before I buy new memory. I have followed the method set forth in the first post in the Windows OS Forum on Read: HOW TO: Repair Windows XP/2000 if you are unable to boot into Windows, but I have had a different problem. I have posted the following post: