Hello! I'm new, and I need help. :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

jyoo

Hello,

I'm new to all of this computer stuff, but I just wanted to introduce myself and my problem. :/

My name is Jessica, and I am completely dumb when it comes to computers.

I got a Dell Dimension 4600 last year, and it seemed to work okay, but now it's slowwwww.
I'm on a router split with 2 other computers, and those work just fine. However, when I click on IE, the homepage loads up fine without a problem. It's when I type an address in the bar...it takes awhile for the page to load up. Also, when I click on My Computer, it takes forever for it to load up too!
I've renewed my antivirus subscription, ran Adaware, cleaned disk, defragged and did a TurboMem scrub. (yes all by myself...that's an accomplishment in itself) I do play some computer games (no thanks to my ex bf), and I do experience some lag, etc with some games, but it doesn't answer my problem to the internet/my computer slowness. Could I be helped?

I don't completely know my specs...but I'll give it a try:

RAM 256
Intel Pentium 4
GeForce 5200 FX

Lol..that's all I can give you for now. :(
If you need more info, I can look it up, but I'm not at my home pc at the moment.

Thanks! ;)

--Jessica

Would that affect my internet and my computer?

I think I'll have to drop my computer off somewhere for someone to install more RAM then...

Thanks! :)

Will my computer be able to handle all that RAM?
I was thinking about getting a new video card as well, but I wasn't sure if my Dell has to be compatible or something.

How much does RAM go for? I'll probably have to leave my computer with someone to do for me.. :/

Right now you have 2x 128MB = 256MB.
For best results, get a 1GB-kit with 2x 512MB = 1024MB (or 1GB) of DDR PC3200/DDR400 type, Crucial model CT440334 for $131.83
http://www.crucial.com/store/listpa...=Dell&tabid=AM&model=Dimension+4600&submit=Go