TechSpot

Hello -- I'm Sammy James, a techno musician

By SammyJames
Aug 15, 2011
Post New Reply
  1. Hello to all you musicians out there!

I am 39 years old. I like TechSpot an awful lot. I have visited the news pages here for several months, and I find that the writing and the coverage are excellent.

I used to work for music technology companies in the Northeast, as a technical writer.I have also played piano for over thirty years, have played synthesizers for twenty-five years, and have studied classical, jazz, and PC/MIDI/sequencing (not necessarily in that order) for about the last twenty years or so.

I have a degree in Music Business. I also own a record company, and I've recently released a CD of my original techno/house/new-age music called The Mall of Generica.

I probably won't post too often in these forums, but I just wanted to say hey. I really like PC technology because I can customize my rig to suit my music production needs. I've been busy upgrading my 2009 Dell Studio 540. I hate Dell, but at the time, it was the cheapest and most powerful computer that I could afford. Plus, I hadn't yet discovered sites like NewEgg and TigerDirect.

Since then, I've been learning about mainboards and PSUs and the like. I hope to replace every component in the Dell case. When I move to a better mainboard, I'll throw the case out, and upgrade it to a nice rackmount one. And yes, I do all of my music using my PC -- I never use hardware synths anymore.

Anyway, keep on rockin'

- Sammy James

P.S. And although I appreciate what the iPad has brought to music, I do not personally endorse using the software that is available for it. However, I do hope that the ARM platform becomes more powerful, more efficient, and less expensive.

It would be great to build a PC based on ARM technology.
  2. ravisunny2

ravisunny2 TS Ambassador Posts: 2,057   +8

Hi Sammy :wave:

Welcome to [​IMG] :grinthumb

You can read how to post a new thread in this Guide.