TechSpot

Hello! I'm VMX!

By Vis Major
Dec 14, 2006
  1. My nick is Vis Major but my friends call me VMX for short! ;)

Out of Ottawa Ontario!

I'm here because I've fallen behind on my PC hardware knowledge and that just sucks.... because I'm trying to buy a new PC.

Anyways, so I'm going to be here for awhile, hopefully I can return the help I get... what I plan to do is get advice for building a decent machine on the cheep (not too cheep) and then I'll need advice about what to buy and then when I get everything I MAY or MAY NOT ask for advice about how to put it all together .... its not that I haven't done it before.

Its just that I've never done a 64 bit of my own, on my own before.

ONE SHOP that I trusted already has lied to me, and I know you guys won't lie to me. They told me that I couldn't use my current (generic) case and PSU for my new system and another place that I trust told me that I could use an even OLDER (anatec) case but just needed a new PSU if I'm going to go with a duel core system.

Interestingly enough, I've bought machines off of BOTH of these places. One machine from each place. The place that told me the truth had built the best machine I ever had, and the place that lied to me built me a powerful machine that has given me many headaches... they even once replaced my gfx card with an inferior one (when it needed to be replaced) and I didn't notice for about a month (didn't think I had to make SURE they put in the noncrippled 9200) ... ANYWAYS... so that is why I'm here.