Help building a system

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all, I need help selecting some hardware components for my first build.

I am an industrial designer and very hands on, I run a small design/build furniture and interiors studio in san juan PR and we do some very cool stuff but could use better 3D tools as the old 8200 (nobody laugh) Dells I bought many years ago are at the end of their lifespan and we are running rhino and maxwell render but with some difficulty and very long render times.

Basically, I need a powerful machine to run graphics programs, Autocad, Photoshop as well (and more importantly) Rhino/Maxwell render. We do still image 3ds of furniture and interiors.

Ive done some research and have come up with some main components but am not sure if all is compatible. Im guessing the most important will be the combination of CPU/Mobo/Videocard so here it goes . Tips on other components also appreciated.

This is what Im thinking: Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Wolfdale 3.16GHz on an Asus Rampage Formula LGA 775 X48 ATX Intel Motherboard. EVGA 512-P3-N862-AR GeForce 9600GT

Im pretty sure im just guessing at this so i will really appreciate a push in the right direction.