HELP: CPU switches off for no reason

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi.
i got a new computer recently. about 1 week ago. recently while using the computer it switches off suddenly for no reason.
Initially it took maybe 20mins for it to switch off. but gradually it took 5-10mins to switch off and now it switches off at boot up. =//

anyone help? and anyways.im a computer newbie X_x

comp info? maybe u should follow the 'new member guide' and fill in ur system specs in ur public profile. that way ppl can help u. i cant help u (and i doubt anyone can) unless u give ur more info about ur system :p

heh.sorry.after all. i am new=//

umm. im using intel pentinum 4 2.8GHZ.
I GB RAM
ATI X700 graphics
80GB harddisk.
the computer was built by a friend's friend.

anywayy somehow my CPU doesn't switch off now. but it produces a funny sound and now my monitor says no signal when i switch on everything =.=

thats odd.. have u checked what temperatures youre getting? I suspected the auto-shut down was an overheating issue. what kinda of PSU are u running on it. and what kind of memory? is anyhting overclockeD?

oh um ok. now how to do u check it?
my computer isnt overclocked. using 2 512 RAM cards from Corsair.=/

If you open up your case, the power supply unit is the box usually at the top of the case, at the very back. It is actually what you are plugging the power cord INTO (from the wall, to your computer's PSU).

But truth be told, even if you find out what make/model it is, you won't be able to diagnose it. From what you have described, it does sound like there is a chance your PSU is failing you. You don't by chance have another one you can test..... ??

I would also go into your bios, and see what your CPU temps are at.