Help defective video card, Leadtek and EBAY

Status
Not open for further replies.

deadpixel

Hi I'm new to the techspot forums. They have proved useful to me many times so I finally signed up. The issue I am CURRENTLY grappling with was discussed here like a year ago. Here's the thread

https://www.techspot.com/vb/topic17943-pg1.html&pp=20

Now that was helpful for diagnosing the problem with my leadtek A400 6800GT but the question is what do I DO about it. I bought this card from a seller on Ebay. He offers a 30 day no DOA guarantee and promises to replace anything that's defective, but in the event that he flakes, or that the replacement is bad too...

My question is basically this: will Leadtek do anything for me? If they did manufacture any quantity of defective cards, should they be responsible for replacing them?

I've already left a message with Leadtek USA and sent an email, and of course I emailed the seller. Now I'm waiting. I just thought I'd run the situation past you all in the meantime. Any advice? I just want this resolved quickly and smoothly as possible.

Thanks all for your time
-josh

i tihnk ledtech will only fix it if its still under warntee and you have proof and date of purchace, otherwise the ebay seller should replace it

entering RMA process w/ leadtek

I've only heard bad things about leadtek's RMA dept. so we'll see how this goes...

first try refunding through seller, do you have proof of putchace as ledtech will prob ask for it

good luck

only proof of purchase I have is paypal invoice

...but leadtek did not ask... They gave me RMA number and told me to send in the card. I'm sending it today.

I actually asked the guy at Leadtek point blank if it were true that the first run of A400's was defective. He avoided the question several times before I asked rather confrontationally "if defective cards made it to distribution or not." He finally said, quote: "Yeah, I think that happened."