Help I am a newbee! loose thermostat cable on CPU

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi All,

I was trying to change the PSU on my PC, as I was taking the PSU unit out, i found a loose cable that said, CPU, don't pull, it's not the CPU power connector since that is still in the Mobo, and i think it belongs to my CPU thermostat, since I have a digital readout on the front of the PC, the question is, Where does it go!!!?? I am freaking out here. Ironically, it says "CPU don't pull". the cable itself terminates in a plastic end with two very fine filaments.

Also, I lifed the CPU fan levers, but did not take the fan off. Will this be ok to put back down? or do I now need to get more thermal paste?

If anyone can help me it would be greatly appreciated. I am a newbie.

Thanks

That cable is most likely the Thermostat , that filament end gets taped to the underside of the heatsink as close to the cpu as posible.
Although I doubt that you would need to clean and then reapply Thermal paste, if YOU are very certain you did not dislodge the seal between the CPU and the Heatsink. If there is any doubt in your mind I suggest cleaning and then reapply to be sure.
The only way to know if you are wrong could be devastating.

Hi Liquidlen, I assume by breaking the seal, you mean, the contact was broken between the CPU and the heatsink, in that case, I have to say that is a probability. Does this mean that I need to reseat the heatsink with the CPU? or, can I continue?

With regard to the thermostat there appears to be no thermal paste on it. Is it possible it was simply stuck between some of the cooling filaments on the heatsink?