Help in identifying a counterfeit Athlon XP 3200+.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mugsy

I have been battling a stability problem with my new PC ever since I bought it several months ago. I'm running an Athlon XP 3200+ with Barton core (OEM) that I purchased online (checked with various cpu ID checkers). BIOS detects it as such and configures accordingly.

I began to suspect "heat" was the issue. Though the computer wasn't running *that* hot, it seems to crash when the cpu temp exceeds 50'C.

After doubling the size of the fan on my heatsink (solid copper btw), and adding fans to the case, I dropped both the die and case temps by 8'C (very good), but still the crashing persisted.

Eventually, I discovered that I can 100% stabilize the computer by running it at a slower speed (in BIOS, changing the 200MHz FSB setting to 166MHz so that it thinks I'm running a 2500+ processor).

After doing some research online, I learned that some "Athlon XP 3200+"s are really just modified Athlon XP 2500+"s with the "L12 bridge" cut. I've compared photos of a real 2500+ and real 3200+, but I just can't spot the difference.

I need to know what to look for before I pull out my own cpu to see if it's counterfeit. Please help!

http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=35855

Does your motherboard properly support the 200mhz FSB ? I've had such a problem myself with a 3200+ & an Asus a7n8x Deluxe (the 2.0 version which officialy supported the 200mhz FSB).

Do you also have PC3200 Ram ?

Soyo KT600 MB.

The MB, a Soyo Dragon Ultra Platinum with KT600 chipset tops out at the 200MHz bus setting (Pheonix BIOS). As far as I can tell though, the clock multiplier can not be set manually. :(

If you mean something specific by "properly" support 200MHz, then I couldn't say. It's the last setting listed in the BIOS, so I'm not using any tricks or finagling to set it that high.