HELP! My CSS lags too much!

Status
Not open for further replies.

munch2477

So I used to play counterstrike source all the time last year with no problems. Now it starts out ok for 5 mins, then it just starts lagging whenever there is a lot of activity. When it is just me running around the game with run great but when there is action everything slows down a lot. This never used to happen. I tried upgrading my RAM to 2GB but that did nothing to help. I would really appreciate any help. Its not my internet either cuz my ping is usually single digits when i play or under 20. I think it might be somthing with the settings but I am far from an expert. I just want to get back out there and work people again. Thanks

Thanks a lot. Unfortunately I'm at work so I can't do anything right now but it looks like a lot of stuff I have not tried.

Do you know if you can upgrade a video card for a Dell Inspiron 6000? I am not sure if my graphics card is good enough. My CSS was working a year ago with the same graphics card perfectly. After the updates to source, could this mean that I might need to upgrade my card? Thanks again

Sorry im a big ***** when it comes to this stuff. I have windows xp home edition. How would i do a clean install?

Oddly enough, I've found with source games that setting your sound quality to the minimum makes a HUGE difference in the playability of the game, CS Source being the one where this saved me the most trouble.

OK ive tried everything now i feel like. I did a video stress test and my fps is 64.2 or something. I have noticed that whenever my computer fan starts kicking up my gameplay really slows down for a few seconds. It gets really choppy. I feel the bottom of my computer and its really hot. Could it be that my machine is overheating? I just installed new ram and it seems like that is the hottest spot to the touch. What can i do to fix this if this is the problem. Thanks