Help needed with model aeroplane!!!

Rik

I know I know, it's nothing to do with computers, but i am building my first ever model plane and I could do with some advice or some links, whatever.

I'm building a "rubber engined" plane and hope to put an electric motor in it and make it radio controlled. I'm no novice to the r/c world as i used to race a 1/10 electric car and have 14 trophies for it.

The problem i have is that the plane kit is second hand and part built. I'm having trouble with the wing covering. Its supposed to be an iron on plastic but I've given it a try and it didn't stick too well and wrinkled up a bit.

Would i be better off borrowing my friends heat gun? Not sure if an iron is quite hot enough!!

rik said:
I know I know, it's nothing to do with computers, but i am building my first ever model plane and I could do with some advice or some links, whatever.

I'm building a "rubber engined" plane and hope to put an electric motor in it and make it radio controlled. I'm no novice to the r/c world as i used to race a 1/10 electric car and have 14 trophies for it.

The problem i have is that the plane kit is second hand and part built. I'm having trouble with the wing covering. Its supposed to be an iron on plastic but I've given it a try and it didn't stick too well and wrinkled up a bit.

Would i be better off borrowing my friends heat gun? Not sure if an iron is quite hot enough!!

Yah you really need two Irons (one large one and a detail/trim iron) and a heat gun to apply plastic covering properly. I prefer fabric covering but on a model that size fabric would be too heavy.Also plastic does tend to wrinkle with changes in temp and humidity.

Thanx for the info, i really apreciate your help. Being my first model its a bit of a learning curve.

I got no suggestions on the plane.